Welcome, Daily Dish readers

… and thanks, Andrew, for the link. I don’t know that we’re a group. We’re just me, really. But I do what I can.

If you’re interested in efforts to turn the idea of clean air and water as a property right into actual workable policies, please do follow along here. And for more, a few of my favourite related blogs are:

Anyway, welcome. Hope you’ll stick around.

3 responses to “Welcome, Daily Dish readers

  1. I don’t get it. I’m an environmental scientist and the term ecolibertarian sounds like an oxymoron. I think of Pat Michaels at the Cato Institute when I think of libertarians and environmental issues.

    I’ve worked in the field of environmental consulting, and one thing I learned from our clients–they will only follow the environmental laws to the letter. No more. They will not clean up their effluent one ppm cleaner than they are forced to by regulations. And if there isn’t enforcement, or when the fines are ridiculously small, they do not bother to comply at all.

    I don’t mean to be rude, I’m just astounded that this site exists, and I’m flummoxed by the concept.

    P.S. If its possible, you might want to add “ecolibertarian” to your blog’s editor/spell check library. Is it a real word?

    Peace out, Vaughan

  2. Well, it’s definitely not easy. I guess you’re accustomed to fellows like one of the commenters in this thread, who see environmentalism as creeping communism, no matter what.

    I have, I think, two basic premises.

    First, that pollution and environmental degradation are essentially property-rights issues — that your ownership of a smokestack does not automatically bring with it the right to spread particulates and nasty gases into the air I breathe. It’s difficult to assert or protect the right in question, and we never really have in so many words, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

    Second, that the way to find permanent solutions to some of the environmental problems we’ve got is to align incentives (mostly financial) with environmentally friendly ends. Plain traditional regulation produces the reactions you’re talking about — the incentives are still to pollute as much as possible and to violate the rules. The goal should be to make a conservationist ethic pay rather than cost, while keeping the (ideally market-based, rather than commend-and-control) mechanisms as simple and transparent as possible.

    These are the principles I try to apply when I look at what our governments are doing and what some people would like them to do. And I try to be practical. As I say, it’s a challenge.

    As for “ecolibertarian,” it’s just made up, but I think it captures pretty what I’m honestly trying to be and do.

  3. I found you through Andrew S and unlike Vaughn, I find your concept refreshing. I’m a regular reader of other libertarian leaning blogs but they always offend my environmental sensibilities. I’ll be back regularly!

Leave a Reply

